Students have always taken an active role in forming campus policy at Westminster and throughout the years, Westminster's student governing body has taken various forms. In 1919, a Student Council was established to work with the administration in order to better campus and community life at Westminster. The students worked on plans for a new gym and increasing enrollment. In March 1970, Westminster's student government dissolved its organization as a protest. The students believed that they had no real power in influencing campus policies. So, a task force was set up. It was composed of 12 elected students, three faculty members and five administrators. Together, they worked on plans for making the new student government an organization with more authority and responsibilities. In the fall of 1970, a new student government was established with a representative Senate having responsibility for recognizing student organizations and allocating monies from student activity fees. Today, the Student Government Association holds these powers, along with many others, and also takes an active role in promoting social activities on campus. It is composed of eight executive members, elected as a slate, and 8 students from each class, elected individually. These 40 students meet every Wednesday evening at 7:00 p.m. to discuss campus issues and plan events.

Info taken from Paul Gamble's History of Westminster College: 1852-1977 published by Westminster College in 1977.

Historic Awards

Recent Award Winners

Service Award

Awarded by the SGA Executive Committee

Presented to the individual who has demonstrated unselfish commitment to the Student Government Senate

2017 - 2018 Recipient: Samantha Sharkey 

Senator of the Year Award

Awarded to a Senator for dedication and outstanding service to the Student Government Association

 2017 - 2018 Recipient: Vanessa Restifo

Executive Committee Member of the Year Award

Awarded to an Executive Council member for dedication and outstanding service to the Student Government Association

2017 - 2018 Recipient: Elizabeth Smith

Slate Pollio 2021-2022
Slate Brosius 2020-2021
Slate Parker 2019-2020
Slate Conn 2018-2019
Slate Carpenter 2017-2018
Slate Hughes 2016-2017
Slate Constantine 2015-2016
Slate Zimmerman 2014-2015
Slate Wiest 2013-2014 
Slate Darby 2012-2013
Slate Armentrout 2011-2012
Slate Krivacek 2010-2011
Slate Gulling 2009-2010
Slate Carnahan 2008-2009
Slate Nesbitt 2007 - 2008
Slate Kerns 2006 - 2007
Slate Udanis 2005 - 2006
Slate Rummel 2004 - 2005
Slate Atkins 2003 - 2004
Slate Nave 2002- 2003
Slate Braem 2001- 2002
Slate Muscarella 2000 - 2001